Song of the Day – “Tainted Love” – Soft Cell

A cover that thoroughly obliterates the original by Gloria Jones. So iconic it changes the question “Who put the bomp” into “Who put the ‘bomp, bomp’ in ‘Tainted Love’”?

Marc Almond and Dave Ball created a Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret with their debut album in 1981, but by three years later the duo had broken up.

One Response to Song of the Day – “Tainted Love” – Soft Cell

  1. Musicorelse says:

    Of course when I first heard Soft Cell’s version, it was the original version to me … and if Soft Cell hadn’t done their fabulous cover, I doubt that I would have ever heard the original version. Over time I’ve come to appreciate the original version though.

    Speaking of fabulous and apropos of nothing, I read this superb quote today: “I want to live in a world where we don’t need to defend the merits of evolution to people who believe snakes can talk.”

Leave a Reply

