Song of the Day – “New Music” Wednesday – “Take Me to Church” – Sinead O’Connor

I don’t wanna love the way I loved before
I don’t want to love that way no more
What have I been writing love songs for?
I don’t wanna write them anymore
I don’t wanna sing from where I sang before
I don’t wanna sing that way no more
What have I been singing love songs for?

Sinead has come a long way from her earlier self, and declares her independence from that person in this track from her new album I’m Not Bossy, I’m the Boss. She’s still fierce, though.

Songs of long and spiteful fails
Songs that won’t let you sit still
Songs that’ll mend your broken bones
And don’t leave you alone
So get me down from this here tree
Take the rope from off of me

Leave a Reply

