Song of the Day – “The River” – Bruce Springsteen

I got a job working construction for the Johnstown Company
But lately there ain’t been much work on account of the economy
Now all them things that seemed so important
Well mister they vanished right into the air
Now I just act like I don’t remember
Mary acts like she don’t care

Bruce has always known how to boil down a working life into just a few lines. Despair and drudgery, leavened by those few moments of life.

But I remember us riding in my brother’s car
Her body tan and wet down at the reservoir
At night on them banks I’d lie awake
And pull her close just to feel each breath she’d take

In many ways, this is the quintessential Springsteen song.

Leave a Reply

