Song of the Day – “Saturn” – Stevie Wonder

Back when I first joined Facebook, Notes were more widely used. They were “long form” posts that mostly were ways of people spreading lists of questions or favorites around. I did one over seven years ago that was the 15 albums that affected you on first listen.

I’ve posted songs from all those albums over the years, but I thought it would be a good exercise to go through some of my favorite albums and pick out my LEAST favorite songs. This doesn’t mean they’re bad – it just means that even classic albums have some slightly-less-than-excellent tracks.

I tried to make things easy for me by starting with a double album, Songs in the Key of Life. Surely there are some throwaway tunes there? “Ngiculela”? “Have a Talk with God”? Actually, I like both of those. So “Saturn” it is! To me, it’s not pretty, it’s not funky, it’s just…there.

Leave a Reply

