Song of the Day – “Name’s the same” Tuesday – “1999”

Prince – The Shout Out Louds

Looking forward; looking back.

I hope this video stays out there – Prince videos have a way of disappearing.

Tonight we’re gonna party like it’s 1999

In 1982, 1999 seemed impossibly far away. Personally, I knew that I’d be forty before the end of 1999. But this song is such a great reminder of the ethos “live fast, die young”. I didn’t feel the same way when 1999 actually arrived – did you?

.

I do remember
Like a punch in the face
I never felt so alive since 19 19 99
The time that we got it all out

This Swedish band released Work in 2010, and it included this look back at 1999, back to when they were even younger than I was in 1982.

Leave a Reply

