Farewell.

Hatred and ignorance have won. 

Although I have never been diagnosed with clinical depression, I have a dark viewpoint, always seeing the worst side of things. But it never seemed to affect my core. Deep down, I have always thought that people, in general, were good. I have been proven wrong. Every person who voted for Trump either agreed with the hatred and ignorance he espouses daily or don’t care about it. 

My entire worldview has been changed by this election. Now I have to, for my sanity, retreat and try to rebuild…something of myself. Some way to be able to deal with a world where hatred and ignorance wins. 

My blog, enthusiasm noted, will be going on immediate hiatus for several months, at least. I just can’t bring myself to post my little songs or attempts at artwork right now. Today’s articles will be the last for the foreseeable future. 

Hatred and ignorance have won. 

13 Responses to Farewell.

  1. Bel says:

    No no no please don’t give up! I am not American but I understand your disillusionment. You / we / none of us can give up or the hatred will never be overcome.

    • juryjone says:

      Thank you but I truly can not do this right now. I need to figure out my life and how I fit into this world before I can figure out how to work another app.

  2. Krisahunt says:

    Once upon a time, I was your age and felt the same way about a Presidential election. (1968) It can be difficult to overcome the angst, but you will. Take care. >

  3. In my life I have left America twice in disgust. Twice I have returned. If I managed to get out again I won’t be back. The American experiment is a failure I understand how you feel

  4. Richard says:

    Agree completely, Jerry. I’m trying to figure out how to cancel my Facebook account

  5. Sue truscott says:

    I’m so sorry. I think I know a little bit how you feel. I, myself, retreated from the ‘real world’ a few years ago, as became worse and worse. I don’t read a newspaper. I don’t watch the news. I shy away from negativity of all kinds (other than a few murders in a good book). Get well soon. We will miss you. 😘

  6. TheVMCoach says:

    Jerry, unless hatred and ignorance have wonin your heart they have won nowhere that matters, my sweet friend.

    I hear your sadness and I hear your disappointment. I love you and we will need to stand together and care for one another with loving kindness, perhaps more actively than ever, for the next four years . We can do this

    • juryjone says:

      My heart is impervious to hatred and ignorance; they will find no purchase here. But it’s not strong enough to toss off all that weight right now, the weight of the majority. Right now, all I can handle is holding my wife close.

  7. I feel exactly as you do!
    In fact…my shades are drawn and I’m sitting in the dark!
    The only thing I’ve done today was buy a black sheet on Amazon. I’m going to hang it on my house.
    I want you to know how much I’ve appreciated your postings. Every time you reviewed a photo app, is immediately try it out.
    I’d like to tank you from the bottom of my heart!
    I hope to ‘meet’ you again…sooner than later!
    With much affection,
    LBZ

    • Linda Bailey Zimmerman says:

      Ps it helped me a tiny bit knowing that HILLARY won the popular vote…a tiny bit.
      I’m happy that you have a loving wife to support you!

  8. Stephanie Chupein says:

    “Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” “There are darknesses in life and there are lights, and you are one of the lights, the light of all lights.” MLK

  9. sarawelder says:

    I understand. Thank you for all you have done. I cannot make art right now either. I join the thousands of people in our community who will miss you. It is a small help that most Americans did not vote for this psychopath , but coming to terms with the fact that so many millions believe his views is beyond disturbing.I too am deeply sad and will need to hibernate to some degree. I wish you well my friend.

  10. Carol Hoffman says:

    I too know how you feel. I still don’t understand how we ended up in Trumpland. What a dictatorship. How anyone including the republicans in the Senate can back him disgusts me. He is not my president. I hope we can get our country back in the next election. My photography and my cat keep me occupied or I would be totally depressed. I wish you peace and comfort. Count me as one of those who truly appreciates what you have done for the art community. We love and appreciate you. And…we thank you.

Leave a Reply

